CH Student, Caroline Aubry-Wake, receives the IAC-IGS Graham Cogley Award

Centre for Hydrology student, Caroline Aubry-Wake, received the IAC-IGS Graham Cogley Award for her excellence in cryospheric research and her oral presentation at the 2019 IUGG conference.

The award was established in 2019 in memory of Graham Cogley (Trent University, Canada) who passed away in October 2018. The award was initiated and is sponsored by the Cogley family, for a period of 20 years. The award recognizes Graham’s substantial and outstanding contributions to glaciology, in particular studies of glacier mass balance, his sustained service to scientific organizations and the broader glaciological community, and his collegiality, kindness and extraordinary work ethic.

The award is given annually to recognize excellence in cryospheric research by Early-Career Scientists (ECS).

In odd years the award is given by IACS to two students to recognize one oral and one poster presentation of exceptional quality at an IACS Assembly (held every two years).

In even years the award is given by IGS to two Early-Career Scientists who have published a paper of exceptional quality in the Journal of Glaciology or the Annals of Glaciology

The shared IACS-IGS Award recognizes Graham’s outstanding service in both the International Association of Cryospheric Sciences (IACS) and the International Glaciological Society (IGS). For example, Graham chaired several working groups within IACS and he served as Chief Editor of both IGS’ journals.

The awardees receive a certificate by IACS or IGS and a cash prize of CAD 500 each due to the generous support from the Cogley family.